Have you noticed “Other Snapchatters” on the story views of your Snapchat account?
If you have, you might be curious to know what it means.
Snapchat users have often stumbled upon “Other Snapchatters” in their stories. This question has also been asked by Snapchatters in different forums and social media.
As Snapchat hasn’t come with any information regarding the term, it creates confusion. Even you can’t find this answer from the Snapchat support page.
Does it indicate that the user has unfriended you?
Or Does the user have blocked you in Snapchat?
We will explain the meaning of Other Snapchatter in this article and many more.
What does it mean on snap when it says “Other Snapchatters”?
“Other Snapchatters” term on Snapchat means that the users either did not add you, they unfriend you from their friend list or they blocked you. Simply, the users under Other Snapchatters indicate they are no longer your friends.
Alternatively, the viewers above “Other Snapchatters” are mutual friends.
For example, suppose you and the other user have added each other as a friend. After that, you post a story on your Snapchat. When that person will view the story, their name will appear under your story viewer’s list.
But if they unfriend you or block you from Snapchat, their username will be shown under the “Other Snapchatters” category.
If the user again add you, they’ll appear as a normal viewer.
Let’s check the details of every reason.
1. You haven’t added back on Snapchat
If you haven’t added back someone on Snapchat who viewed your public story, they’ll appear under “Other Snapchatters”. Whereas friends you’ve added and those who have added you back will be shown in the normal story viewers.
In 2017, a user tweeted the Snapchat Support about “What does “other snap chatters” mean on story views?”.
Snapchat replied that “Other Snapchatters” are Snapchatters who you haven’t added.
We’ve checked the authenticity of this theory by creating another account on Snapchat. If you want to confirm the theory by yourself, create another Snapchat account and check your primary account’s story from the secondary one.
When you check the story viewers of the main account, you can find the secondary account is showing as “Other Snapchatters”.
2. Snapchatters who have removed you
Secondly, the person appearing under “Other Snapchatters” might have removed you as a friend from Snapchat.
When someone unfriended you from Snapchat, they will no longer be the normal story viewers. Instead, you can see them under the “Other Snapchatters” list.
It’s possible that you both were friends before, but now they have removed you from their followers’ list. To verify, you can send them a message and if it shows a gray arrow or a “Pending” status, that indicates the user has unfriended you on Snapchat.
3. Other Snapchatters have blocked you
Finally, the user will be listed as Other Snapchatters if they’ve blocked you on Snapchat.
If someone blockers you after viewring your Snap, their usernames will not appear as the normal story viewers.
You can test this theory by using two Snapchat accounts. If you’ve already an account on Snapchat then create a secondary account. Now, add these accounts as each other friends and post a story on your primary account.
Next, view the story from the secondary account and check the story count on the primary one. You can find the secondary account id in the regular story viewers list.
Now, go back to the secondary account and block the primary one. When you open the story views at the primary account, you can see the secondary account is showing as “Other Snapchatters”.
It proves that the person who’ve blocked you after viewing your story will appear under the “Other Snapchatters”.
Why does it say “Other Snapchatters” but you’re still friends on Snapchat?
If it says “Other Snapchatters”, but you’re still friends on Snapchat, it indicates that the user might have blocked you.
It’s also possible that they might have removed you from their friend list, but you don’t know it yet.
There are three ways to make sure of it:
First, the user will be shown as Other Snapchatters in your story views. But, when you post a new story in the future, the people who blocked you will no longer be seen in the story count. It’s because once someone blocks you, they can’t access your Snapchat profile.
Second, a grey arrow will be visible beside the user’s name in the chat list, which means the person may have removed you.
Finally, you’ll notice a pending status if you send a new snap or message to that friend who has removed or blocked you.
Frequently Asked Questions
If “Other Snapchatters” appears on your Snapchat private story, it means someone from your friend list has watched the story and then removed or blocked you. When you post a story on Snapchat as “private”, only your friends can view it. So, if other Snapchatters are seeing it, that means you were their Snapchat friends before, now you’ve been unfriended.
If you don’t want to see “Other Snapchatters” in your story, you can block them to get rid of them.Otherwise, you can change your story privacy settings to remove “Other Snapchatters”. For that, open Snapchat, tap the Settings icon at the upper right and under Who Can, select View My Story. Now, set the privacy to Friends Only instead of Everyone.
To see who Other Snapchatters are, open Snapchat, tap the profile icon at the top right, select My Story and swipe up to check the viewers. Then, go to the Other Snapchatters section and find the usernames who’re not friends with you.
To see the Other Snapchatters who viewed your story, go to My Story, swipe up and tap the eyeball icon below. It’ll open the list of viewers along with the Other Snapchatters usernames.
Yes, sometimes Other Snapchatters means blocked. However, it could also mean that the other user may have only unfriended you or you didn’t add them as a friend.
Yes, Other Snapchatters on a Snapchat story can indicate that users have deleted or removed you from their friend list. Even if you have them on your list, they also need to add you back as friends to be your regular story viewers.
Friends on Snapchat means you and the other person are both added to each others’ friend list. On the other hand, Other Snapchatters indicates that you are not or no longer friends with that person. Either you haven’t added him/her back, he/she unfriended you or blocked you permanently.
Snapchat has different features, symbols, terms and emojis. All carry individual meanings, which may confuse you sometimes.
Similarly, if you’re new to this app, “Other Snapchatters” on the story views may wonder you. Hopefully, this article has been able to answer all of your queries. If you’ve any further questions, do let us know in the comment section.