When Snapchat says “Pending” for a message, it means that the message you’ve sent is not delivered yet. Snapchat shows this notification when you send a snap to a user who is not on your friend list.
But if pending appears for your friends, it means that the person has not added you to their Snapchat friends, you’re blocked or their account is deleted. You can also see a temporary pending status when sending a large file that takes time to upload completely.
In this article, we’ll explain everything about Snapchat pending, why it occurs and how to check pending snaps.
What does pending mean on Snapchat?
If you see pending on Snapchat, it means the app could not send your message or snap to the other person.
It mainly happens if you’re not friends with each other or they might have blocked you on Snapchat.
Why does it say pending on Snapchat?
Here are the various reasons for pending on Snapchat:
1. The person has not accepted your friend request. If you’re not friends with someone on Snapchat but still try to snap them, you’ll receive the “Pending” status instead of “Delivered”.
2. The person has unadded you on Snapchat. It’s possible that you might have been on their friend list before, but now they’ve unadded you.
3. You’ve been blocked. If someone blocks you, Snapchat won’t be able to send your messages to them and hence, it says pending. In case their account is public, you can see their stories but not contact them via messages.
4. The user account no longer exists. You won’t receive notifications when someone deletes their account or Snapchat removes an account. Though their account may still appear on your friend list, you can’t message them.
5. You’re not connected to the internet. Pending on Snapchat also appears when you try to message someone offline. In order to send a message or snap, you must be connected to the internet or WiFi.
6. You’re sending a large file. If the file or video size is too large, Snapchat takes time to send it completely and in the meantime, it shows “Pending”. It’s a temporary message status. Once it’s uploaded, the pending tag will be replaced by delivered.
7. Snapchat is not working. There’s a chance that your Snapchat app is malfunctioning or its service is down due to technical issues. Hence, Snapchat says “Pending” for the message.
Why does it say pending on Snapchat but still friends?
If it says pending on Snapchat but still friends, there can be many reasons.
- The user may have removed you from their friend list.
- Even if you’ve re-added them, they haven’t accepted the friend request.
- You have been blocked by your friend.
- There are technical errors in the Snapchat app.
- You’re having a slow network and, therefore, receiving pending on Snapchat.
Does pending mean blocked on Snapchat?
The answer is No. Pending on Snapchat does not always mean being blocked.
It’s possible that the person you’ve sent the message or snap has not accepted your friend request yet, so that you’re seeing “pending”.
Why does Snapchat say pending in gray?
If your message or snap is pending with a gray arrow, it means the app is unable to deliver the message successfully.
Based on the privacy settings, the gray pending icon on Snapchat appears when the other person doesn’t add you to their friend list.
How to view pending Snapchat?
If there is a pending snap or message, the receiver will get a notification to view pending Snapchat. Even if it is from someone who’s not a friend, the message can be viewed without accepting the message or friend request.
Once the person reads your message or snap, the pending gray icon will turn into blue.
How long do the Pending messages on Snapchat last?
The pending messages on Snapchat last for 30 days. After that, the message will be removed from the Snapchat server.
Even if the other person accepts your message request after 30 days, Snapchat will no longer deliver the pending message.
What does pending mean on Snapchat with a red box?
The pending on Snapchat indicates that the app hasn’t been able to send your message/snap and will continue to try sending it until the other user receives it or you choose to cancel it.
If you’ve sent a snap without audio and the receiver views it, the chat icon will turn into a red box.
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I know if someone unfriended me on Snapchat?
In order to know if someone unfriended you on Snapchat, open your Snapchat account, tap the profile icon, select My Friends and search for the friend you assume has removed you. If you can’t see the name, they have unfriended you.
What does blue pending mean on Snapchat?
The blue chat icon on Snapchat means that your friend has opened or viewed your pending snap or chat. Once someone reads your sent message, the pending gray arrow turns into blue.
What is the pending snap benefit?
The main benefit of a pending snap is it notifies that the message is from an unknown person or someone you’ve unfriended. So, you can either ignore it or choose to accept their message or friend request.
Additionally, if you’re getting pending on Snapchat but still friends, there may be a network connectivity issue. In such cases, Snapchat shows “Pending” next to the message and saves it in your device cache folder to send it later.