When you no longer use Spotify to listen to music, you can permanently delete it from the device. However, you can delete a Spotify account only from the Spotify website in an internet browser, not from the mobile app.
Additionally, you need to cancel the Spotify premium subscription, if you’ve any. But, keep in mind, there are some consequences once you close the account completely. Keep reading the article to get into details.
How to Delete Spotify Account?
To delete the Spotify account, visit the Contact Spotify page, go to Account and select I want to close my account. Then, keep clicking Continue to confirm the deletion until Spotify sends you a confirmation email to delete the account permanently.
Here is the step-by-step guide:
- Go to Contact Support Page of Spotify.
- Then, click Account .
- Select I want to close my account.
- Click Close Account.
- A page will appear that says, “We’re sad you want to leave us” and then the Five-steps process will begin to close your Spotify account.
- Click Continue to move forward and complete the process.
- Confirm the account you want to close by clicking on Continue.
- You will get a notification from Spotify that your followers and playlist will be lost. Check the box if you understand all consequences and click Continue.
- Again click Continue on the next page. You’ll receive an email from Spotify on your registered mail account asking for the confirmation that you still want to close your account.
- Within 24 hours open the link and tap on Close your account to close your account permanently.
And you’re done.
What Happens When You Delete Spotify Account?
- When you delete Spotify account permanently, your username will be no longer available. Although you can create a new account using the same email id.
- You’ll lose all the downloaded music in the library.
- You can’t access the playlists and your followers.
- If you have a student discount, you can’t apply it to another Spotify account until a year from signing up.