People sometimes get concerned about their online privacy and want to leave social media. Moreover, after Cambridge Analytica Scandal about public data stealing in the USA, many users tried to disconnect from Facebook.
If you also need a break from this social network, there are two ways to close Facebook. Either you can temporarily deactivate the Facebook account or delete it permanently.
Keep reading the article to reveal how to deactivate Facebook account easily.
The Difference Between Deactivate vs. Delete Facebook Account
There is a major difference between deactivating Facebook and deleting Facebook. When you’re deactivating the account, you can reactivate it again anytime. Meanwhile, deleting a Facebook account can’t be undone.
Let’s take a glance at what happens if you deactivate or delete your Facebook.
1. When Deactivate Facebook Account:
When you stop using Facebook by deactivating the account, here’s what happens:
- People will not be able to search your account.
- Your timeline, including images, videos, posts, friend list and “about” information, will be hidden.
- Some information will still be visible to others, like sent messages. It’s because you can deactivate Facebook but keep Messenger at the same time.
- Group admins can view your posts and comments with your name.
- You can’t access Oculus games product or your Oculus information with the Facebook account.
- Thankfully, Facebook stores all your information such as photos, interests, posts and even Oculus games, if any. Therefore, you can retrieve them anytime by reactivating the account with the same login ID and password.
2. When Delete Facebook Account:
In contrast, deleting a Facebook account is a permanent action.
- Once it’s deleted, you can no longer access the account.
- Facebook entirely removes all things associated with that particular account.
- You won’t be able to use Messenger.
- But, friends may still view the messages you’ve sent to them. Generally, a copy of those sent messages is stored in the friend’s inbox.
- If you log in to Oculus with your Facebook account, erasing Facebook completely also erases your Oculus information.
- Similarly, you can’t log in to other apps which you signed up with the Facebook login ID.
With these in mind, Facebook gives you 30 days before permanently deleting the account. During this time, if you log in to the account, the deletion request gets canceled.
Further, deleting all data in Facebook’s backup system takes up to 90 days after the deletion process starts. Although, Facebook still keeps a copy of data in their backup storage for future references.
How To Deactivate Facebook Account?
Suspend your Facebook account by deactivating it with the following process:
- Open and log in to your Facebook account.
- Click the triangle-shaped arrow from the top right corner if you’re using it on a desktop. For Android users, tap the three horizontal lines from the top right corner.
- Go to Settings & Privacy > Settings.
- For desktop users, Click Your Facebook information from the left side menu and select Deactivation and deletion on the page.
- Select Deactivate account and then click Continue to Account Deactivation. Provide the password to confirm and follow the further instructions.
- For Android users, Scroll down to locate Account Ownership and Control.
- Tap Deactivation and Deletion.
- Choose Deactivate Account and Continue to Account Deactivation. Provide the password to continue and follow the instructions.
And it’s done. Remember, you can come back whenever you want.
How To Delete Facebook Account?
A permanent solution to get rid of Facebook is deleting it. Here’s how to delete Facebook account completely on Android and desktop:
- Launch Facebook on a desktop or Android app.
- For desktop users, click the triangle-shaped icon on the upper right of the page. For Android users, tap the three horizontal lines in the upper right corner.
- Select Settings & Privacy > Settings.
- For desktop users, Click on Your Facebook information from the left column.
- Click Deactivate and delete.
- Select Delete account permanently and click Continue to account deletion. Follow the further instructions.
- For Android users, Scroll down to open Account Ownership and Control.
- Tap Deactivation and Deletion.
- Select Delete Account and Continue to Account Deletion.
- Enter your password,tap Continue and tap Delete Account.
Now you can say goodbye and stop Facebook finally. However, since you can’t retrieve the account, there’s no chance to recover the Facebook information. Hence, before permanently quitting Facebook, it’s recommended to download a copy of all information.
It takes a few steps to leave Facebook temporarily or permanently. But before you regret it later, try the alternate solution like deactivating your Facebook account. Because if you like to return, reactivating it is as simple as deactivation.
However, deleting Facebook is also an option if you’ve made mind and want to get off social media forever. In that case, don’t forget to download all the information to keep the photos and videos with loving friends.